Research Honours and Awards

Benjamin Franklin Parr Fellowship

This Fellowship is awarded by the Faculty of Social Sciences to to recognize, reward, and thereby retain, two very strong younger faculty members.

Mark Cleveland - 2008-2011, 2011-2014
Shahbaz Sheikh - 2008-2011, 2011-2014

DanCap Private Equity Professor in Consumer Behavior

Mark Clevaland - 2010-present

DanCap Private Equity Faculty Fellowship

Johanna Weststar - 2012
Julie Schermer - 2011
Daniel Brou - 2010
Shahbaz Sheikh - 2008
Mark Cleveland - 2007

Emerald Citation of Excellence

These awards recognize the most outstanding articles published by the top 300 management journals in the world. 

Jennifer Robertson - 2016
Bonnie Simpson - 2016

Emerald Literati Award

Emerald Literati Awards are selected by the Editorial Boards of Emerald’s journals, in this case, the Journal of Managerial Psychology, with three papers elected for their outstanding contribution to scholarly work. The winning papers are considered well-written and reflect rigour in terms of argument and analysis.

Jennifer Robertson - 2018

Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences

The Fellowship of the Academy of Social Sciences (FAcSS) is an award granted by the Academy of Social Sciences to leading academics, policy-makers, and practitioners of the social sciences.

Geoffrey Wood

Fellow of the British Academy of Management

Fellowships are awarded to scholars who have made an outstanding Academic contribution to Business and Management scholarship, as well as demonstrating a significant contribution to the community of scholars in the field and within BAM.

Geoffrey Wood - 2018

Global Undergraduate Award

Honors undergraduate thesis in Consumer Behavior, by Georgia McCutcheon (under the supervision of Dr. Mark Cleveland) was the “2019 Regional Winner” from the USA & Canada, Business Category, by the Global Undergraduate Awards (out of 3437 submissions), the world’s largest academic awards program. Thesis title: Consumer Attitudes toward Backlash against Globalization: A Nine-Factor Model.

Hans B. Thorelli Award, American Marketing Association

This award is bestowed by the American Marketing Association for the article that has made the most significant and long-term contribution to international marketing theory or practice.

Mark Cleveland - 2019; For: “Service Quality Perceptions and Customer Satisfaction: Evaluating the Role of Culture,” Journal of International Marketing (2004), Vol. 12, No. 3, 58-85, Authors: Michel Laroche, Linda Ueltschy, Shuzo Abe, Mark Cleveland, and Peter Yannopoulos.

Mark Cleveland - 2016

Mitacs Research Training Award

Date:  July 2020 Competition
Name: Mark Cleveland w. Faculty of Social Science Partnership
Amount: $6,000

Temple/Academy of International Business (AIB) Best Paper Award

Mark Cleveland - 2019; For: “Do Personal Values, Moral Foundations and Gender Role Identities Influence Consumer Ethnocentrism and Consumer Cosmopolitanism? Evidence from a Five-Country Study,” by: Melvin Prince, Attila Yaprak, and Mark Cleveland (2019), Academy of International Business (AIB) Annual Meeting (June 24-27, 2019), Copenhagen, Denmark.

Teaching Awards

Faculty Scholars Award

Established in 2005, the Faculty Scholars Award recognizes significant recent scholarly achievements in teaching or research. Nominated by faculty deans and selected by the Faculty Selection committee chaired by the Provost, the recipients have an international presence in their discipline and are considered all-round scholars. Winners hold the title “Faculty Scholar” for two years.

Mark Cleveland - 2017-2019

Faculty of Social Science Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching

Established in 2016, the Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes full-time faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching.  

Outstanding pedagogy is demonstrated through the active, critical role of the instructor who fosters critical thinking and inspires students to engage in the quest for knowledge as a value and a skill. By honouring such individuals, the Faculty of Social Science demonstrates its commitment to teaching as a scholarly endeavour, and highlights the importance of outstanding teaching to our Faculty.

Shahbaz Sheikh - 2018

The Edward G. Pleva Award for Excellence in Teaching

Western’s top honour for teaching, the Edward G. Pleva Award for Excellence in Teaching was established to recognize continuing members of full-time.

Ann Bigelow - 2015-2016

Western University's Award of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Western University's Award of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is co-presented by The University Students' Council, The Bank of Nova Scotia and the Western Alumni Association, to recognize, celebrate and award excellence in undergraduate teaching. 

Phil King - 2019
Nicholas Kahnert - 2016
Sarah Ross - 2016

University Students' Council (USC) Teaching Honour Roll Certificate

Ferraro, Maria
Hann, Stacey
Kapulkin, Krzysztof
Ross, Sarah
Toth, Susan

Cairns, Jaclyn Patricia
Clements, Megan Elizabeth
Cleveland, Mark
Ferraro, Maria
Hann, Stacey
Hill, Jan Matilda
King, Philip T. 
Ross, Sarah Jane
Sheikh, Shahbaz A.
Shuja, Muhammad
Tajima, May
Theocharis, Samuel J.
Toth, Susan

Ann Bigelow
Shannon Butler
Maria Ferraro
Jan Hill
Phil King
Muhammad Shuja
Ruth Ann Strickland

Ann Bigelow
Mark Dixon
Maria Ferraro
Jody Merritt
Muhammad Shuja
Bonnie Simpson
Ruth Ann Strickland
Susan Toth
Jodie Whelan

Ann Bigelow
Mark Cleveland
Maria Ferraro
Stacey Hann
Cristin Keller
Karen MacMillan

Ann Bigelow
Shannon Butler
Maria Ferraro
Cristin Keller
Phil King
Karen MacMillan
Susan Toth

CMA Teaching Award in Accounting

Departmental award for teaching excellence in Accounting.

Ann Bigelow, Muhammad Shuja, Maria Ferraro- 2014-2015
Ann Bigelow, Muhammad Shuja, Maria Ferraro - 2013-2014
Maria Ferraro - 2012-2013
Ann Bigelow, Maria Ferraro - 2011-2012

CMA Teaching Award in Finance

Departmental award for teaching excellence in Finance.

Shahbaz Sheikh - 2014-2015
Shahbaz Sheikh - 2013-2014
Daniel Brou, Diana Mok - 2012-2013
Shahbaz Sheikh - 2011-2012

Service Awards

Allan Heinicke Memorial Service Award (UWOFA)

The Allan Heinicke Memorial Service Award was established in honour of the late Allan Heinicke, former Chair and President of the University of Western Ontario Faculty Association and latterly financial, technical and policy analyst. This award was instituted to honour and to recognize outstanding service and achievement in financial, technical, or policy development and/or analysis supporting the aims of the Association.

Ann Bigelow - 2015

International Game Developers Association (IGDA) MVP Award

The IGDA introduced its Most Valuable Person (MVP) Awards as a means to recognize the extraordinary contributions of its most valuable volunteers.

Johanna Weststar - 2014

Toronto Leader's Circle

The Leaders Circle is a noteworthy association of Canadian professionals who are experts in their respective fields. This network of leaders includes some of the brightest minds of our city and country who all share the common goal of showcasing Toronto as a place of innovation, excellence and opportunity.

Johanna Weststar - 2019

United Way Elgin Middlesex Changemakers Award

The United Way Elgin Middlesex Changemakers Award for community mobilizers and stand-up citizens who inspired their colleagues and communities to take action and improve lives locally. This Thursday it is being awarded to UWOFA Librarian and Archivists negotiations campaign .

Johanna Weststar - 2019